Good God! A Gospel Funk Hymnal (2xLP)


Gatunek:    /  Podgatunek: 
  • Album
  • 2xLP
  • Comp

Label: Numero Group

Rok wydania: 2006

Nr kat: Nb010

Press: US

Stan płyty: Mint (M)   /   Stan okładki: Mint (M)

The genesis of our Good God! series, dedicated to divergent sounds from devout records, A Gospel Funk Hymnal explores injections of a profane funk into gospel music’s sacred beatitude. Completing the circular journey of a hallowed rhythm, these tracks carry sanctified messages as passed through the earthly delights of the bass and guitar groove. Mixing primitive harmonies, spacious breaks, jungle percussion, elderly rappers impersonating the devil, cast recordings, thumping bass, and James Brown impressionists, this is old time religion slathered in funk’s sinful gravy. Such a collection can only come together retroactively. “Gospel funk” lays its claim to genre only in the way that “deep soul” or “acid folk” do, as categories created by collectors and enthusiasts, ways of defining subsections within subsections. No label, artist, or producer focused strictly on funky gospel music; rather, a couple hundred groups kept a funkier number in their repertoire, then cut a budget gospel record. From Canadian Trevor Dandy’s Don’t Cry Little Tree long-player comes the laid-back “Is There Any Love”…. or check out how Sam Taylor might’ve opened his own soul-stirred Jesus Christ Superstar on “Heaven on Their Minds.” Your pilgrimage begins here.


A1 Preacher & The Saints – Jesus Rhapsody Part 1 3:19
A2 5 Spiritual Tones – Bad Situation 2:03
A3 Mighty Walker Brothers – God Been Good To Me 3:01
A4 Masonic Wonders – I Call Him 3:46
A5 Mighty Voices Of Wonder – I Thank The Lord 3:17
B1 Voices Of Conquest – O Yes My Lord 2:27
B2 Gospel Comforters – Jesus Will Help Me 3:01
B3 Horace Family – God Will Dry My Weeping Eyes 3:11
B4 Trevor Dandy – Is There Any Love 4:30
C1 Sam Taylor – Heaven On Their Minds 3:02
C2 Triumphs – We Don’t Love Enough 3:34
C3 Brother John Witherspoon – That’s Enough 1:49
C4 Shackleford Singers – God Is All Over Me 3:12
C5 Cliff Gober – A Poor Wayfaring Stranger 3:25
D1 Universal Jubileers – Childhood Days 4:04
D2 Modulations – This Old World Is Going Down 3:38
D3 Apostles Of Music – Look Where He Brought Us From 3:37
D4 LaVice & Company – Thoughs Were The Days 3:05

Dostępność: Na stanie