Marvin Gaye-You’re The Man


Gatunek:    /  Podgatunek: 
  • 2xLP
  • Album
  • Comp

Label: Tamla Motown

Rok wydania: 2019

Nr kat: 00602577163395

Press: Europe

Stan płyty: Mint (M)   /   Stan okładki: Mint (M)

„You’re The Man” is a posthumous studio album by Marvin Gaye, originally intended to be released in 1972 as the follow-up to „What’s Going On”.
It was released on March 29, 2019, on vinyl and digital, and April 26, on CD, through Motown, Universal Music Enterprises, and Universal Music Group to celebrate what would have been Gaye’s 80th birthday on April 2, 2019.
The album includes the single of the same name, as well as the intended original album in full and other songs Gaye recorded at the time.

„You’re The Man” was intended as another socially conscious record like „What’s Going On” (1971), but following the release of its lead single, the title track „You’re The Man”, Gaye cancelled its release.
This was in part due to the reception of the song, as well as the fact that Gaye’s political views were different to those of Motown founder Berry Gordy. For these reasons, „You’re The Man” was long considered a lost album.

15 of the 17 songs have not previously been released on vinyl, but most were made available on CD compilations over the years.
The album will include a longer take of „I Want to Come Home for Christmas”, which was first made available in 1990 after being recorded in 1972.


A1 You’re The Man 5:45
A2 The World Is Rated X 3:50
A3 Piece Of Clay 5:10
A4 Where Are We Going? 3:53
B1 I’m Gonna Give You Respect 2:55
B2 Try It, You’ll Like It 3:55
B3 You Are That Special One 3:35
B4 We Can Make It Baby 3:20
C1 My Last Chance 3:40
C2 Symphony 2:52
C3 I’d Give My Life For You 3:31
C4 Woman Of The World 3:30
C5 Christmas In The City (Instrumental) 3:48
D1 You’re The Man (Version 2) 4:40
D2 I Want To Come Home For Christmas 4:48
D3 I’m Going Home (Move) 4:38
D4 Checking Out (Double Clutch) 4:50

Dostępność: Brak w magazynie